Nom Nom Abroad: The Odd Bits

Just a few tidbits from our two week trip to the UK.

The counter at Harringtons

The counter at Harringtons

We went and had a traditional pie and mash shop in Tooting and is something my wife has wanted to try for quite awhile. We both ordered the pie and mash with liquor (parsley sauce). I can’t necessarily say I cared for it at first but once I doused the whole affair with the accompanied sarsens vinegar, it made for hearty eating.

Pie and Mash at Harringtons

Pie and Mash at Harringtons

Borough Market is a stop I always like to make when I am in the UK. The amount of food goodness in the market is staggering. It was really cold when we were there so we headed straight for the cider shop for some steaming hot mulled cider.

Cider at Borough Market

Cider at Borough Market

The market was heaving and it took forever to get any food. I wanted to get some raclette but the line was the longest in the market. So I took this wistful snap and went to get a sausage.

Cheese for raclette

Cheese for raclette

I am a huge fan on Indian chaat. It’s something I discovered when in Mumbai on a walk with Raconteur Walks. So I did some research and found out that East Ham has a thriving Indian community so off we went!

Sweets on display

Sweets on display

We ate at four different places and all were stunningly good. The first item we had was a stunning samosa chaat(£2). A deep fried samosa was doused with a chick pea curry and drizzled with a tamarind chutney and mint yogurt. Yum!

Samosa chaat

Samosa chaat

We ended up having some pani puri in a pakistani buffet restaurant that was pretty tasty but this Vada Pav (£1) in Anand was the topper for me. A hand shaped patty was deed fried then served on bread with onion, sev, tamarind chutney and cilantro.

Vada Pav

Vada Pav

Vada Pav patties

Vada Pav patties

We had a great meal at the Prince of Wales on Ham Hill in Somerset. I had a fabulous venison burger (£12.50) and my wife had a rabbit stew (£13.00). The burger had smoked Dorset Red Cheddar, Bacon  and Porcini Jam. The patty was slightly overcooked but still managed to stay juicy.

Venison burger

Venison burger at Hern Hill

The rabbit stew had pork cracklings sprinkled on top which gave a great crunch to the stew.

Rabbit and Venison Stew

Rabbit and Venison Stew

My mother in law had a pork pie that was pretty impressive. I am not usually a big fan of this but they served it piping hot. I wish more places would serve it this way.

Pork Pie at The Prince of Wales

Pork Pie at The Prince of Wales

Well there you have it. The UK gets a bad rap about their food. However, every time I go, I seem to find something amazing to eat.

Harringtons
3 Selkirk Road, Tooting SW17 0ER London

Borough Market
8 Southwark St, SE1 1TL London

Prince of Wales
Stoke Sub Hamdon, TA12 6RW Somerset
princeofwaleshamhill.co.uk

Leave a Reply

