Bun Cha Le

Bun Cha Hanoi at Bun Cha Le

Bun Cha Hanoi at Bun Cha Le

The weekday ritual I have is pretty routine. Get up, take a shower, get dressed and kiss my wife before heading down to the parking garage. Then jump on the bike and head to work. Friday’s morning commute seemed like a normal weekday morning. That is until I turned the corner and saw three words that caught my attention.

Bun Cha Hanoi

And it was literally a two minute walk from my flat! I didn’t freak out like I have in the past when discovering a Bun Cha Hanoi joint but I did stop and thank the bun cha gods for blessing me with this amazing development.

Bun Cha Le sign

Pretty much the menu at Bun Cha Le

It’s a pretty small place with about five tables in all with two already taken by customers. A good sign. My wife and I ordered a plate of bun cha hanoi (28,000VND) and a nem cua be (10,000VND/roll) each. It didn’t take that long for the order to arrive.

Bun Cha Hanoi

Bun Cha Hanoi

The presentation was nice and there was enough of it. I guess if I had to be nit-picky I would say that there wasn’t enough char on the meat which is one of my favorite aspects of the dish. The grilled pork belly had a great marinade on it and had a perfect fat to meat ratio.

Nem Cua Be

Nem Cua Be

The nem cua be were great and had more than enough crab in it. Though I am allergic to shellfish, I always throw caution to the wind when I have a chance to eat these fried springrolls. Which I will gladly do again here.

Now all I need to know now is if they deliver…..

Bun Cha Le
54 Thach Thi Thanh
District 1
Ho Chi Minh City

Map for Bun Cha Le

Map for Bun Cha Le

Leave a Reply

