A cronut in Ho Chi Minh City

Crossnut from L'Amour Bakery in Ho Chi Minh City

Crossnut from L’Amour Bakery in Ho Chi Minh City

A Cronut in Ho Chi Minh City

Walking down the street from a gut-busting dinner from Skewers, I spied across a sign that read “Crossnut” and “First in Vietnam”. Intrigued, I popped in and found out that they were sold out. Always a good sign.

crossnut sign at L'Amour Bakery

crossnut sign at L’Amour Bakery

I have been reading about the cronut craze for the past few months starting with a post on the Serious Eats website.

Serious Eats Cronut photo

Serious Eats Cronut photo

As you can see from the photo above, the cronut takes the deep fried goodness of a donut and combines it with the velvety buttery layers from a croissant. Mix in a bit of cream in each of the layers and you have a crunchy donut that is also velvety on the inside.

Well at least that’s what they tell me.

I haven’t had a cronut and though I would like to try it, I don’t really care to wait in line for one either. Because of this fad, cronut knock-offs have started to appear around NYC and now it looks like Dunkin Donuts in Korea have managed to replicated it. However, I don’t have the luxury of heading to Korea to get one so my only comparison is the crossnut at L’Amour Bakery on Hai Ba Trung.

So the next morning, I headed to the bakery to get myself a couple of crossnuts. Luckily they had a few left so I was able to score a couple and headed home to try them out! I had a chat with the L’Amour’s manager Olivier at the shop and he said that they are currently only making 10 a day but if demand is up, then they will definitely ramp up production of the crossnut.

I don’t know what a proper cronut tastes like so the only comparison I have is a photo. I put the photos of both below side by side and see if they match up.

Comparison of a Cronut and Crossnut

Comparison of a Cronut and Crossnut

Well, the cronut definitely has the layers going for it. Both have cream inside but from what I can see, the crossnut has a bit more. The crossnut also has more cream on top but more on that later. The crossnut doesn’t quite stack up to the cronut visually but how does it taste?

The side view of the crossnut

The side view of the crossnut

I think one of the best donuts I have had. Probably in my top five. It didn’t have the distinct layering of the original cronut but was a pretty good donut for sure. The crust had was crispy without being oily and the the interior had a consistency of a krispy kreme donut (never a bad thing). One niggly bit is that there might be a bit too much creme on it. There was an ample amount of filling so I felt that the extra frosting on top made it overly sweet. Scraping the excess frosting did the trick. I will definitely head back to get some more.

And the best thing: No waiting in line and with the price at 25,000VND ($1.12 USD), a steal.

L’Amour
24  Hai Ba Trung, D1 HCMC
08 3520 8180
92-94 Le Van Thiem, D7
08 5410 4072
http://lamourbakery.com.vn/

Update: the crossnut isn’t usually available until 10am.

5 thoughts on “A cronut in Ho Chi Minh City

  1. Just stumbled across your blog and it’s a delight to read! I live in HCMC, and it’s nice to have a regular source of good places to eat (or places to stay well clear of) that’s not just an article in a magazine. Believe it or not, I’ve never actually heard of this Cronut phase, but having a bit of a sweet-tooth, I’m fairly certain I’ll be making a trip to Hai Ba Trung in the very near future! Thanks for sharing 🙂

  2. Pingback: Odds and ends: Syria bans croissants; Seattle wants to ban "citizen" and… | The Cronuts

Leave a Reply

